Cereals allergy recommendations

 

Like with any food to which they are allergic to, allergic people should carry out a strict diet free from both the cereal and products that may contain it. People allergic to cereals are allergic to their protein and, in theory they tolerate fats extracted from them well. Thus, most people allergic to corn will tolerate corn oil, especially when this is highly refined.

However, we cannot rule out the possible contamination of these oils with residual proteins from the same cereal.

cereals-allergy-bread

Bread

It is always recommended to limit the consumption of industrial products to the maximum and a careful reading of labeling should be made.

When labels show a vegetal product without further specification (vegetable milk, vegetable fat, vegetable broth or stock, etc.) you should avoid the consumption of the product until the exact composition is known.

 

WHEAT

Wheat products are found in many foods. In order to avoid foods that contain wheat, it is important to read food labels:

  • Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients: bread crumbs, bran, cereal extract, couscous, crackers, enriched flour, flour, gluten, unsifted wheat flour, flour with a high gluten content, flour high in protein, spelt, vital wheat gluten, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat malt, wheat starch, whole wheat flour.
  • Other ingredients may also indicate the presence of wheat protein: gelatinized starch, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, Kamut (Khorasan wheat), modified food starch, modified starch, natural seasonings, soy sauce, vegetable starch, chewing gums.

cereals-allergy-pizza

Pizza

 

To successfully follow a wheat-free diet you should consider the following list of foods that are not allowed:

  • Beverages or drinks: cereal beverages, coffee substitutes, beverages made from wheat products: beer, ale, beer without alcohol. Powders used in instant chocolate drinks.
  • Breads and cereals: white or brown bread, breadcrumbs, rolls. Donuts, sweet rolls, muffins, French toast, rusk, biscuits. Pre-made sponge cake mixes, breads and rolls. Cornbread, potato bread and soy bread unless made ​​without wheat flour or products. Cereals made from flour, wheat, or those that have been added wheat products or malt. Sponge cakes, crackers and pretzels. Semolina, couscous.

  • Desserts: cakes, pastries, commercial meringues, ice cream, sorbet, waffles. Cookies, prepared powders or packaged pudding containing wheat flour. Whole wheat biscuits, donuts.
  • Eggs: Not allowed: soufflés or creamed eggs made with wheat products.
  • Fats: Any salad dressing or gravy thickened with wheat flour or wheat products.
  • Fruit: Fruit crushed with cereals.
  • Meat, fish and poultry: meat in pies or covered with flour containing a filler such as meatloaf, frankfurters, sausages or ready made meat burgers.
  • Milk and milk products: malted milk, milk drink containing powdered wheat cereal or wheat products. Cottage cheese with modified starch or other ingredients containing wheat.
  • Potatoes and pasta: potatoes cooked in the oven with breadcrumbs. Noodles, spaghetti, macaroni and other pasta products prepared with wheat or semolina flour. Couscous.
  • Soup: cream soups, unless they are made ​​without wheat flour. Soups with noodles or letters. Soup thickened with wheat flour.
  • Sweets: chocolate candies containing malt, candies with cereal extract.
  • Vegetables: vegetables combined with wheat products. Breaded or floured vegetables.
  • Miscellaneous: malt products, Worcestershire sauce, sauces thickened with wheat flour. Monosodium glutamate (MSG), meat tenderizers containing MSG, prepared oriental food seasoned with MSG, soy sauce.

 

Information for using wheat substitutes:

1 cup of wheat flour equals to:

  • 1 cup of rye meal.
  • 1 – 1¼ cups of rye flour.
  • 1 cup of potato flour.
  • 1⅓ cups of oat flour.
  • 1/2 cup of potato flour plus 1/2 cup of rye flour.
  • 5/8 cup of potato starch.
  • 5/8 cup of rice flour plus 1/3 cup of rye flour.

 

RICE

cereals-allergy-paella

Paella

 

We can find rice in sake (Japanese liquor) as well as liquefied rice in health food shops.

 

CORN

Corn is an allergen difficult to eliminate since it is present in the form of starch in many elaborated products.

The following contain corn and therefore must be eliminated in the exclusion diet: Baking powder, caramel (corn syrup is often used), dextrin, maltodextrin, dextrose, fructose, glucono delta-lactone, invert sugar, invert syrup, malt, malt syrup, malt extract, mono and diglycerides, monosodium glutamate, sorbitol and starch.

Cornflour

Cornflour

Remember that you should avoid foods that have been fried in oil that has been previously used in cooking batter, cooked or have been handled in containers or utensils previously used in the manufacture of battered or coated dishes, and have not been washed and rinsed thoroughly.

It is also highly recommended that the allergic patient wears an identification bracelet or plate, with clear and conspicuous print, the type of food allergy and what specifically it is.

It is advisable to carry self-injectable epinephrine when eating out. The patient, family and carers should have the required training for its administration.

 

Gluten free diet

Allergy recommendations index.

 

es

Print this page Print this page

 

© Sanialergia

Copyright © 2017 SaniAlergia. Allergist. Spain